The wave of anti-LGBT bills that have been filed by state legislators across the country continues to grow. More than 100 bills have been filed this year in 29 state legislatures.

Last month, HRC reported that lawmakers have introduced more than 85 anti-LGBT bills in 28 state legislatures.

While religious refusal bills in Indiana and Arkansas have made headlines and were signed into law, anti-LGBT bills in other states, such as Florida and Texas, are still pending.

As of April 6th, anti-LGBT legislation proposed in Colorado, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Montana, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming had been defeated or failed to meet key legislative deadlines, but more than 60 bills are still active in other states.

HRC is leading efforts around the country to counter these bills, deploying staff to key states and partnering with state-based LGBT equality organizations and other allies. 

To learn more about the bills and the states where they have been introduced, check out the map below or click here.

State map

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines