There are only 46 days left before the midterms. Make a voting plan.

Pulaski CourthouseThe Arkansas Supreme Court has responded to a motion from Arkansas Attorney General Dustin McDaniel to stay Judge Chris Piazza’s ruling that overturned Arkansas’ ban on same-sex marriages. The response gives LGBT marriage plaintiffs until Tuesday at noon to respond to the stay motion request.

In the meantime, counties in Arkansas remain split on issuing marriage licenses. Earlier today Carroll County, Arkansas, stopped issuing same-sex marriage licenses. At the beginning of the day, Carroll County was one of three counties in North Arkansas issuing same-sex marriage licenses. The other two counties in North Arkansas still issuing licenses are Marion and Washington. Pulaski County is also issuing licenses in central Arkansas.

On Saturday, 15 marriage licenses were issued to same-sex couples in Carroll County. Another 12 were granted early this morning before the ban was put in place. Eureka Springs, which is located in Carroll County, was the first, and only, city in Arkansas to officially endorse same-sex marriage and the first and only city in the state with a Domestic Partnership Registry.

On Friday, Pulaski County Circuit Judge Chris Piazza ruled in Wright v. Arkansas, striking down Arkansas’ ban on same-sex marriages. Dozens of LGBT couples lined up as early as 2:30 am Monday morning at courthouses across the state.

Filed under: Marriage

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines