The HRC Story

Hosting an Event

The Equality Center is the perfect venue for special events in the heart of Washington, D.C! It has played host to weddings and commitment ceremonies, birthday and anniversary parties, cocktail receptions, and Bar and Bat Mitzvahs. Check out below for more information about room configurations, catering, and available audiovisual amenities, or email us directly at equalitycenter@hrc.org.

Capacities & Configurations

The Equality Center suggests the following capacities for each of our rooms in several different configurations. These capacities may be adjustable; please inquire about your individual needs.

View floorplans of the Equality Forum and Conference Rooms A, B and C.

Suggest Capacity
  Square Feet Theater Standing
Reception
Seated
Dinner
Equality Forum 2,200 150 250 100
Conference ABC 1,173 80 120 100
Conference BC 782 50 80 70
Conference AB 828 50 80 70
Conference C 345 35 40 30
Conference B 437 35 40 30
Conference A 391 35 40 30
         

Vendors

The Equality Center does not have an in-house caterer. However, we do have several preferred caterers who are familiar with and comfortable in our space, as listed below. If you choose to select a caterer who is not on the following list, we simply require that they provide us with proof of their liability insurance, as well as a bartending license if alcohol will be served at the event. We are happy to offer site tours to caterers who are new to the Equality Center; please set up an appointment by emailing us at equalitycenter@hrc.org.

Preferred Caterers:

W. Millar & Co.
Contact: Cristina Frezzo
202.387.2216
cfrezzo@wmillar.com
www.wmillar.com

Catering by Windows
Contact: Nicole Gutierrez
703.519.3500
nicoleg@catering.com
www.catering.com

Main Event Caterers
Contact: Spencer McCormack
703.820.2028x238
info@maineventcaterers.com
www.maineventcaterers.com

Menus Catering
Contact: Jayne Nochumowitz
202.546.7400
jaynen@occasionscaterers.com
www.menusdc.com

Occasions Caterers
Contact: Matt Sipala
202.454.7837
msipala@occasionscaterers.com
www.occasionscaterers.com

Grand Cuisine
Contact: Paul Weiner
202.637.4771
paul.weiner@hyatt.com
www.grandcuisinedc.com

InStyle Caterers
Contact: Denise Thorne
301.486.0300
denise@instylecaterers.com
www.instylecaterers.com

Susan Gage Caterers, Inc.
Contact: Susan Gage or Amber Compton
301.839.6900 ext 222 or 301.839.6900
sgage@susangage.com or acompton@susangage.com
www.susangage.com

Avalon Caterers
Contact: Carolina Ocampo
202.337.2000
carolina@avaloncaterers.com
www.avaloncaterers.com

Other Vendors:

Perfect Settings
Contact: Esteban Gimenez
202.722.2900
www.perfectsettings.com

Parlights
301.698.9242
sales@parlights.com

EnGaygedWeddings.com
Contact: Michael
561.929.9929
www.engaygedweddings.com

Preferred Florists:

Royce Flowers
703.684.6650
royce@royceflowers.com

Bloom Fresh Flowers
c/o Stephen Robinson
703.299.9929
800.893.9929
www.mybloomfreshflowers.com


Audiovisual and Equipment

At the Equality Center, we have many audiovisual and equipment amenities available for rental. The following is a list of equipment we have available for use:

Audio:

  • Sound System w/ 2 Speakers
  • DVD/VHS Player
  • Compact Disc Player w/ 5 CD Changer
  • Sound Board
  • Multimedia Speakers
  • Handheld Microphone
  • Handheld Microphone Wireless
  • Lavaliere Microphone
  • Lavaliere Microphone Wireless
  • Polycom Conference Phones
  • Digital Phones

Visual:

  • Plasma Flat Screen
  • Plasma Connection
  • Laptop Computer
  • LCD Projector
  • Projection Screen
  • Up-lighting

Equipment:

  • Easel Flipcharts w/ Paper Pad
  • Tripod Easels
  • Podium