Current Legal Challenges to State Marriage Restrictions

Updated 4/29/14

As the national spotlight on marriage grows ever brighter and polling continues to show Americans moving inexorably in the direction of supporting equality for same-sex couples, there are at least 69 marriage equality court cases working their way through the judicial system across the country.  These cases have been filed in 29 states plus Puerto Rico and account for nearly 250 plaintiffs taking on state marriage bans.  Same-sex couples can legally marry in seventeen states and the District of Columbia, while 33 states have a law or constitutional amendment restricting marriage to the union of one man and one woman.  Only four states – Alaska, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota – have bans on marriage equality but no current court cases challenging their constitutionality.

Visit HRC's Americans for Marriage Equality site for the latest news and information about marriage equality court cases across the country.