Issue: Marriage

Civil Unions

Some states offer civil unions — a form of relationship recognition that gives same-sex couples access to the state-level rights and responsibilities of marriage (though not federal rights). Currently, New Jersey, Illinois and Rhode Island permit same-sex couples to enter into civil unions. Delaware and Hawaii will begin recognizing civil unions on January 1, 2012.