Healthcare Equality Index

Celebrating its 10th year, the Healthcare Equality Index (HEI) is the national LGBTQ benchmarking tool that evaluates healthcare facilities' policies and practices related to the equity and inclusion of their LGBTQ patients, visitors and employees. The HEI 2017 evaluates a total of 1619 healthcare facilities nationwide.

Patient Services and Support

The questions in this criteria all relate to best practices in the provision of Patient Services & Support. There are 22 best practices that are scored questions in this crieria. In order to receive full credit (30 points) for this criteria, a facility must have implemented 11 or more of the best practices. A facility may receive partial credit (15 points) for this criteria if it has implemented 6 to 10 of the best practices.

The scored questions in this criteria come from the following sections of the HEI Survey:

A. LGBTQ Patient Services (9 best practices)

B. Transgender Patient Services (4 best practices)

C. Patient Self-Identification (7 best practices)

D. Medical Decision Making (2 best practices)

Click on each section to learn more.