Post submitted by Eric Cameron, former HRC Digital Media Specialist

With a 71-21 vote, the Uruguay House of Representatives gave final approval yesterday to a bill allowing same-sex couples to marry.

The marriage equality bill overwhelmingly passed the Uruguay Senate earlier this month, but returned to the House for a final vote to approve amendments.

President Jose Mujica supports the bill and has said he will sign it into law.

Once signed, Uruguay will become the 12th country to recognize marriage equality nationwide, joining the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina and Denmark. Same-sex marriage is also recognized in parts of Brazil, Mexico and in nine U.S. states and the District of Columbia.

Congratulations Uruguay! Learn more about the nationwide fight for marriage equality in the U.S. by visiting HRC’s Marriage Center.

Filed under: International, Marriage

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines