Post submitted by Maureen McCarty, former HRC Deputy Director of Marketing

This week New Zealand could become the first Asia-Pacific Nation to legalize marriage equality.

Parliament is set Wednesday for the final hearing on a bill that would amend the 1955 Marriage Act to define marriage as the union of two people, regardless of their sex, sexuality or gender identity

If signed into law, New Zealand would join a dozen nations that recognize marriage equality nationwide, including the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina and Denmark.

Just last week Uruguay’s House of Representatives gave final approval to a nationwide marriage equality bill, which now awaits President Jose Mujica’s signature.

Same-sex marriage is also recognized in parts of Brazil, Mexico and in nine U.S. states and the District of Columbia.

Filed under: International, Marriage

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines