Post submitted by Eric Cameron, HRC Digital Media Specialist

Marriage equality takes effect in Uruguay today. Following Argentina, Uruguay is the second country in Latin America to have passed nationwide same-sex marriage legislation.

The legislation passed with strong majorities in the Uruguay House and Senate in April. President Jose Mujica signed the bill into law on May 3.

Uruguay joins the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Canada, South Africa, Norway, Sweden, Portugal, Iceland, Argentina, Denmark and France in recognizing marriage equality nationwide. Marriage equality takes effect in New Zealand later this month and is expected to take force in England and Wales in 2014.

Brazil is just steps away from fully recognized marriage equality following a recent ruling by their National Council of Justice. Same-sex marriage is also recognized in parts of Mexico and in thirteen U.S. states and the District of Columbia.

Congratulations, Uruguay!

Filed under: International, Marriage

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines