HRC today commended the government of Luxembourg for passing legislation that will make it the 19th nation to grant full marriage rights to all of its citizens.

"We commend the leaders of Luxembourg for granting the nation’s LGBT citizens the rights they deserve, and we congratulate the LGBT activists and advocates who made this historic day possible," said Ty Cobb, HRC’s Director of Global Engagement.

Luxembourg’s national parliament, the Chamber of Deputies, approved the bill by a vote of 56 to 4.  In addition to granting full marriage rights to Luxembourg’s LGBT citizens--previously only civil unions were available--this legislation will grant LGBT couples full adoption rights as well.

Currently, Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Uruguay, as well as England and Wales in the United Kingdom, have marriage equality laws that are in effect. In addition, Scotland’s law is set to extend full marriage rights to its LGBT citizens by the end of 2014.

Filed under: International, Marriage

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines