Post submitted by Annie Kehler, HRC Communications Intern 

Today marks the fifth anniversary of marriage equality in Iowa. At the time, Iowa was the fourth state to allow marriage between same-sex couples, following Massachusetts, California, and Connecticut, in addition to the District of Colombia.

Since the ruling in 2009, 13 more states now have marriage equality, and 27 states and Puerto Rico currently have marriage equality cases pending in courts.

Human Rights Campaign celebrates these victories and looks forward to continued success for marriage equality across the county.

To learn more about HRC’s statewide efforts in your backyard, visit

Filed under: Marriage, Community

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines