HRC Blog

Oklahoma Elects First Openly Gay Senator

Oklahoma elected its first openly gay senator in a special election held on Valentine’s Day night, according to the Victory Fund.
Democratic State Rep. Al McAffrey, who was first elected to the Oklahoma House of Representatives in 2006, defeated Republican Jason Reese on Tuesday by 67 percent of the vote.
McAffrey will succeed Senate Minority Leader Andrew Rice, who resigned in January.

comments powered by Disqus