HRC Blog

Members of Congress Don’t Want DC to Vote, Except to Ban Marriage Equality

In a stunning display of hypocrisy, 39 members of Congress yesterday expressed their support for an initiative in D.C. that would ban marriage for same-sex couples.  The funny thing is, almost all of them voted against giving District citizens voting representation in the U.S. House.  In today's Washington Post, HRC's own Sultan Shakir sums it up best:

"It is ironic that nearly all of the 39 representatives and senators that signed the brief have done everything in their power before to deny voting rights to D.C. residents," Shakir said. "I don't know if they have had a sudden change of heart on D.C. voting rights or, more likely, they are just playing politics and once again meddling in home rule."

The 39 Representative and Senators trying to ban marriage equality in DC are: Sens. James Inhofe and Roger Wicker and Reps. Robert Aderholt, Todd Akin, Michele Bachmann, Gresham Barrett, Roscoe Bartlett, Marsha Blackburn, John Boehner, John Boozman, Eric Cantor, Jason Chaffetz, John Fleming, Randy Forbes, Virginia Foxx, Scott Garrett, Phil Gingrey, Louie Gohmert, Jeb Hensarling, Wally Herger, Walter Jones, Jim Jordan, Steve King, Jack Kingston, John Kline, Doug Lamborn, Robert Latta, Don Manzullo, Michael McCaul, Thaddeus McCotter, Patrick McHenry, Cathy McMorris Rogers, Jeff Miller, Jerry Moran, Randy Neugebauer, Mike Pence, Joe Pitts, Mark Souder, and Todd Tiahrt.  You'll notice some high profile names in there -- particularly Republican leaders like Minority Leader Boehner and Minority Whip Eric Cantor.

comments powered by Disqus