HRC Blog

HRC Announces Winners of Scholarship & Mentorship Program for Religion and Theological Study

The Human Rights Campaign  is proud to announce the second annual Scholarship & Mentorship Program for Religion and Theological Study awardees. 

This program, made possible through a generous grant by the Evelyn Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Program, and the Evelyn Rhodes and Leona B. Carpenter Program in Religion, Gender, and Sexuality at Vanderbilt Divinity School, is pivotal to realizing HRC's  Religion and Faith Program's vision to ensure that no one should have to choose between their faith, their sexuality and their gender identity.   By growing a network of scholars engaged in robust, intellectually rigorous and spiritually rooted conversations about LGBT equality and faith, we are changing how pastors, rabbis, and others of deep faith approach religion and LGBT Equality and, in turn, how they preach, pastor, and teach about sexuality and gender identity in their congregations and classrooms. 

The recipient of the 2011 Dissertation Scholarship is:

Megan Goodwin

Megan Goodwin’s dissertation, “Captive Bodies, Queer Religions:  Scripting American Religious Intolerance,” explores American Protestant anxieties about the challenges marginal religions pose to our understanding of heterosexuality and masculinity. Goodwin is a doctoral candidate in Religion and Culture at the University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill.

The 2011 Summer Institute Students are:

Philip Abrahamson, Fordham University in New York City, NY beginning fall 2011.

Egon Cohen, Brite Divinity School in Fort Worth, Texas.

Jacob Erickson, Drew University in Madison, NJ.

Kelley Fenelon, Vanderbilt Divinity School in Nashville, TN.

Chad Gurley,Vanderbilt Divinity School in Nashville, TN.

Brett Kutzsch, Temple University in Philadelphia, PA.  

Jennifer Leath,Yale University in New Haven, CT.

Brock Perry, Chicago Theological Seminary in Chicago, IL.

Amanda Pumphrey, Claremont Graduate University in Claremont, CA.  

Marissa Rohrbach, Yale Divinity School in New Haven, CT.

Nicholas Vancayzeele, Catholic University of Louvain (K.U.Leuven) in Belgium.

Jared Vazquez, Phillips Theological Seminary in Tulsa, OK. 

Jeanine Viau, Loyola University Chicago in Chicago, IL.

Natalie Williams, Drew University in Madison, NJ.

Bryant Woodford, Lancaster Theological Seminary in Lancaster, PA.

comments powered by Disqus