argentina flagPost submitted by Bo Suh, HRC Digital Media Intern. 

9,500 same-sex couples have married in the four years since Argentina passed its marriage equality law, according to La Nacion. Argentina was the first country in Latin America to recognize same-sex marriage.

Argentina passed its marriage equality law on July 15, 2009, and became the second-largest country in the Americas and is one of 17 countries that recognize same-sex marriage. Approximately 1,300 same-sex couples married within the first six months of the law. 

In 2012, Argentina began to recognize same-sex marriage between foreign couples requiring only passports and temporary proof of address. The Argentine government made clear that there was no guarantee that the marriages would be recognized outside of the country.

Despite four years of equality, same-sex marriage still has its opponents in Argentina. Héctor Aguer, one of Argentina’s highest religious officials, denounced marriage equality in an interview with La Nacion in March 2014.

But marriage equality was made possible in Argentina by the hard efforts of local LGBT rights groups, including the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans Federation of Argentina (FALGBT) and the Homosexual Community of Argentina (CHA). HRC celebrates alongside Argentina as local activists continue to support LGBT rights groups in neighboring countries that do not yet recognize same-sex marriage.

For more information on international LGBT issues, click here.   

Filed under: International, Marriage

Don't miss a post

Sign up for RSS feeds

Have a news tip?

Share it with us

Community discussion

Read the guidelines